Full Report: EDTF – A Strategy for a Modern Digitalised Energy System


The Energy Data Taskforce’s aim is to provide a set of recommendations that will support the delivery of a Modern, Digitalised Energy System unlocking the benefits of decarbonisation and decentralisation through better use of data.

Purpose, remit and acknowledgements

The Energy Data Taskforce was established to provide Government, Ofgem and Industry with a set of recommendations on how data can assist with unlocking the opportunities provided by a modern, decarbonised and decentralised Energy System at the best

value to consumers.

This work is part of the Smart System strategy being developed
by Government, is in line with the Industrial Strategy, Clean Growth Strategy, and the Government and Ofgem’s Smart Systems & Flexibility Plan. It is also aligned with programmes and initiatives being undertaken or planned by Ofgem, Innovate UK and others across the sector including the range of ‘Prospering from the Energy Revolution’ projects. In all these strategies and ambitions, data is recognised as crucial to building a smart system that supports achieving decarbonisation objectives and creates significant economic opportunities.

The purpose of the Taskforce also reflects national data strategies beyond energy; these are reflected in the National Infrastructure Commission’s report ‘Data for the Public Good’, multiple Industrial Strategy themes, and the Furman Report on digitalising Government.

In the course of the Taskforce’s work it became clear there are a number of fundamental issues which are inhibiting the existence, accessibility and utility of data across the Energy System. These issues have led the Taskforce, in consultation with its sponsors, Government, Ofgem and Innovate UK, to focus on a more holistic set of recommendations than were envisaged in the Taskforce terms

of reference. Implementation of these recommendations will not only satisfy the original objectives, but in addition, establish a solid foundation for on-going change and create key Building Blocks that will help accelerate this change.


Laura Sandys, Dr Richard Dobson, Eric Brown Gordon Graham, Rebecca Lane, Jake Verma and Nick Winser.